RSS Feed

Be Wise as Serpents

Wise-as-serpents

I had a great conversation with someone today about pro-life vs. pro-choice ideology. It was very interesting for me because it was the first time I’ve really purposefully focused on the scientific and secular pro-life argument. I could tell from our conversation about some other stuff that making a religious argument wasn’t going to be fruitful in this circumstance and since I wasn’t sharing the gospel at this point I saw no need to make it the sole basis for the debate.

Now don’t get me wrong. I believe that the Word is a two edged sword and cuts right to the heart of the matter. I also believe that it is out most powerful tool, but we are also told to “be wise as serpents.” In this instance it seemed that going a different root was more effective. I didn’t hide my religious convictions on the matter, but I didn’t focus on them either.

ToolLove-copy

The Apostle Paul is quoted in scripture using outside sources as well in his proclamations. In Acts 17: 28

“‘In him we live and move and have our being’;

as even some of your own poets have said,

“‘For we are indeed his offspring.’”

One tactic we need to learn is what tools we have in conversation and how and when to utilize them. Many Christians act like they only have a hammer in their arsenal, but not everything is a nail. Take the time to research.Here is an article from the Family Research Council you may desire to study on Pro-Life Arguments for a Secular Audience.

God gave you a brain. Now use it.

About Jason Vaughn

I'm a conservative Christian blogger and filmmaker.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Secular Pro-Life | Twisted Conservative

  2. Pingback: Secular Pro-Life | Twisted Conservative

Leave a Reply

